de itinere primo: days 2-3

October 24, 2012

OK! The next day we went to Thermon (really cool site! I left my camera on the bus.), the Agrinion Museum, which has swag from Calydon including this very handsome head of Meleager from the heroon there:

Meleager

After that we went to Stratos, which reminded me of the ruins of the giants’ city in The Silver Chair. But I didn’t take very good photos of it. We spent the night in Preveza city!

preveza city!

This brings us to the end of day 2! Although I think this shot of Preveza city is from the morning, actually. Day three we went to Nikopolis/Actium. I had never heard of Octavian’s synoikizing the neighborhood; I guess it’s just a regular thing we do now. I was so horrified when I learned in KM’s lyric seminar about what Hieron did to Catana, but now I guess I should be more blase? Well, these things are always complicated. There are many similarities and differences between Hieron, Cassander, and Octavian. No really good photos from Nikopolis and Actium, though we learned all about the dedication of the rams from Antony and Cleopatra’s ships. Very interesting!

Leave a comment